Giving Birth in Saudi Arabia

3 thoughts on “Giving Birth in Saudi Arabia”

  1. Congratulations on the new baby! Hope your experience of giving birth in Saudi Arabia wasn’t too traumatizing. If you don’t mind me asking, do you remember the name of your doctor who delivered your baby? I’m currently 22 weeks pregnant with my first and my insurance only covers maternity and delivery in Soliman Fakeeh hospital and I’m a little anxious about finding the “right” doctor for me. How was your doctor with you? were the staff (doctors and nurses) good and kind?

    Thanks for the info.

    Like

    1. Hi Sharifa, thanks and congratulations to you too! My doctor at Soliman Fakeeh was was Dr. Wael. Lots of moms I talked to recommended him because he tries to accommodate your birthing preferences (whether or not you want an epidural, episiotomy, even birthing positions–as long as it’s safe for mom and baby). That said, he wasn’t there during the delivery because he was off that day, I think. However, I was in too much pain to even care. Everyone was good and kind. The nurses were very patient. The doctor (don’t know her name) present during my delivery was a little stern and insisted on my episiotomy but she didn’t do it until I relented. I’ve read horror stories on the internet about doctors just doing it without asking permission so I’m glad nothing like that happened. Hope this helps. I’d be happy to answer any more questions you have about my experience there 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

