Breastfeeding in Saudi Arabia

5 thoughts on “Breastfeeding in Saudi Arabia”

  1. “I couldn’t find a breastfeeding room (there are NONE) so I went to the restroom and breastfed while sitting on the toilet. It was so uncomfortable and kind of depressing.”
    I had the same experience. After that, would always wear black or dark clothes, an abaya that is open in the middle, and a long scarf. I’ve breastfed in malls, usually in the fast-food area, or a bench where a few people stay. The cover I have is enough to breastfeed discreetly.
    But, I think, if it works in the prayer room, then just go there. 🙂
    Or I breastfeed in the car, before we enter the mall. Then by the time were done, another session in the car. 🙂

    Like

  2. It was so painful to read you trying to find a place to breastfeed your baby. I was reading through your post and thinking “why didn’t she go to the prayer room?” I’m glad you eventually discovered it. Yes, definitely lots going there and it’s not always dark there.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I know! It was definitely not great. I hope my post about my experience can save a lot of new moms the trouble of finding a suitable place to breastfeed their babies!

      Like

Leave a comment